OMSI 2. Real dashboard, Arduino and writting plugins (1 Viewer)

Hello everybody,

I have been playing OMSI 2 intermittently for several years. Recently, I got myself a Logitech G25 steering wheel in order to build a real dashboard to play the game. My idea is to hack the steering wheel to a full-sized bus one with turning indicators switch and to design and 3D-print a dashboard with all the indicators and switches and connect it to the game.

So, this post will have 2 main parts.

First one: OMSI 2 community status.
I have seen that the official Marcel's OMSI forum does no longer admit new registrations since a new game, LOTUS-Simulator, is being developed. However, I have seen that the activity on that forum as well as on this forum and on the OMSI WebDisk forum (the ones I have found to be the most important and active ones besides from Marcel's) is still going on... So my main question is: Do you think it is worth spending time and effort in developing such thing in a game not officially supported? I mean, I don't mind that the game is not supported as long as the community is still active so that I can get help and new addons will still be released... Also, am I missing any other OMSI 2 active forum?
Actually I am going to post this on the WebDisk forum as well.

Second one: Technical details and help regarding my idea.
I have done some research on how to interface a real-life dashboard with the game.
From one side, inputting actions to the game is pretty straight-forward. I can hack a USB keyboard (or use an arcade USB interface or a U-HID) to connect my own switches to the game and assign each switch to the corresponding key in the keyboard, so that it will be basically as if I was playing with a keyboard.

On the other side, pulling data out of the game to activate gauges, lights and even displays, is a little bit trickier...