European Vs. North American Hybrids (1 Viewer)

I've got a question for the bus community out there. I am a bus operator in the US and have been driving a lot of hybrids lately. I've noticed that while hybrid buses in the US tend to lean more toward the CVT (continuously variable transmission) side, having almost no distinct gear shifts, whereas European hybrid buses tend to lean towards a geared system (Volvo's iShift comes to mind). Why is this? Is there a difference when it comes to degree of "hybridization" or is it more preferential? The best example of how the ones I drive tend to work goes like this: From 0 to about 20 MPH, the electric motor does all the work, from about 20-40 MPH the ICU (internal combustion engine) is coupled to the driveshaft and works in tandem with the electric motor, from 40 MPH on up, its purely the ICU. The ICU then tends to rev when braking from higher speeds as well, presumably to help recoup more power for the batteries. I'd love to hear possible answers for why there is a difference or even opinions as to why the two regions have differences with hybrids :)

Road-hog123

An Orange Bus
FF Council
UKDT
Add-on London Team
Dec 10, 2015
Kent, UK
roadhog123.co.uk
Pronouns
He/Him
Volvo's I-Shift is not a hybrid system, it's a gearbox similar to an American 18-speed manual truck gearbox. The gear stick and clutch are replaced by pneumatic actuators and the operator's brain with a computer and sensors. It's available in Volvo trucks with a large number of options including additional crawler gears, dual-clutches and hybrid drive.