Complete beginner to OMSI scripting and Blender, intending to create a bus. Where can I get help? (1 Viewer)

Aug 3, 2016
Dear all,

I'm going to have a go at creating a Plaxton President bodied Volvo B7TL. I am totally new to coding in general, OMSI scripting and Blender. I have read up on the difficulty levels and what resources are required. I have good access to the bus in real life, and I think I can arrange a private session to take pictures of textures and record sound etc.

First I am going to develop skills in Blender, learn some coding so I get the logic behind it, then OMSI Scripting. I think it will take at least a year to get good at it.

So, my question. I've already collected some resources, but:
  • Where can I find templates for the bus? Looked in many places.
  • How much money is required?
  • What are some of the best tutorials for each required skill set?
  • Where's the best place to start?
  • Should I even try?
  • What are the best ways to obtain required resources for the bus?
  • How can I avoid getting on the wrong side of copyright and licencing? (except not using parts from other people's busses without permission)
And also, I would really appreciate any tips anyone could drop. No I am not going to jump straight in - I'd love to have this as a hobby and I am way more than happy to listen to everyone and do things properly afresh.

Thanks and kind regards,
Sjain

P.S. Very friendly and well designed forum :)

Last edited:
Solution
Flickr would be your best place for this. If you can't find blueprints or anything, your next best option is to find a head on, back side, side on picture on Flickr. You'll get more detail to work of at the expense of a completely dead on photo
Depends on how you wanna go about it. Blender etc will be free but if you do want to get sounds you may wanna invest in a decent audio recorder :tongueout: